The Girl And Her Nightingale

ImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku. 

Sewing and cross-stitch

From crafter based in Melbourne

Hoops and thread abound

Tell us a little about the origins of The Girl And Her Nightingale.
I started cross-stitching early last year in order to combat the stress of writing my Honours thesis, and found that once I started I couldn’t stop. When I finished uni, I thought about starting an online shop and friends encouraged me to do so. The Girl and Her Nightingale was launched as an online business three months ago and I started doing markets at the same time. So far the exposure I’ve been getting at markets is great and I really enjoy meeting customers and other stall holders.

Describe your creative process. 

Most of my designs revolve around the combination adorable animals and puns, so I will usually see if I can come up with a pun to go with an animal. Or, if I already have a pun in mind, it comes down to designing an animal to go with it. For example, at the moment I am trying to come up with a good rabbit design to go with “some bunny loves you”. Once I have finalised the pattern, it comes down to choosing what colours work best together for the design. I take great care with the colour combinations I use in my work and it’s probably the area I most pride myself in.

What inspires you the most? 

Terrible puns, patterned fabric, and other embroiderers; I love seeing the multitude of different designs that come from the one craft.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
For other embroiderers, I love Dandelyne, and I’m super jealous of the adorable tiny hoops she uses to frame her brooches and necklaces. I also love the brooches made by Of Wood and Ash. I also discovered Scrabble Kitty at the last Bend and Snap market and fell in love with her BMO owl plushie.

What are your ultimate dreams for The Girl And Her Nightingale?
I have heaps of ideas for the shop. Eventually I’d like to add handmade clothing and maybe some crochet pieces to what I make and sell. I’d love to one day have my cross-stitch patterns published in a book, I think that would be amazing.

What will we find from The Girl And Her Nightingale at our August Bend and Snap Market?
You will find my usual fare of adorable animal pun cross-stitches and bunting made from books. There will also be a new cross-stitch design; an octopus that says “you octopi my thoughts.” As well as some badges with cross-stitch designs on them, both which will be debuting at Bend and Snap.

Oh hello August, we are celebrating 1000 £ Bend‘s FIFTH BIRTHDAY this month so see you all at our upcoming Bend and Snap Market day at 1000 £ Bend on Sunday 25th August 11:00pm to 4:00pm 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city for our monthly extravaganza of art design fashion vintage, wild posies and floral arrangements courtesy of FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS, terrariums by BONNIE, illuminating mushrooms from LOWGLO LUMINAIRES and we welcome back the perfect pop up nail bar courtesy of CRITTER CLAWS.

We will be having lots of sugary sweetness served up by BONNIE BIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, SWEET TREATS and WAFFELIER (who sold out of their delicious waffles at our last market day, so be sure to get in quick), not to mention an accoustic set by the dreamy SEAN KIRKWOOD in the cafe.

We are also thrilled to have the MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS presenting our Crafternoon Corner again this month with a slew of robot building workshops as well as many of our regular stall holders and a load of exciting new additions to our Bend and Snap fold, including: BERNAVUE, BONNIE, BONNIE BIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CRITTER CLAWS, DRISYA, EELAV MCBEE, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, FORGET ME KNOTT, FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS, THE GIRL NIGHTINGALE, HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS, JACKIE MADE THIS, JUX, LAUREN NICHOLSON ILLUSTRATION, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, LOVE MY PRINTS, ME-U, MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, PRECIOUS LITTLE SAKURA, THE RED FOREST, ROZZETTE, SABRI DURSI, SCRABBLE KITTY, SEBO-HANDMADE JEWELLERY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, SWEET TREATS and WAFFELIER.

We have had some gorgeous interviews with many of our darling stall holders over the past few months. Be sure to make a little time to have a read of these inspiration filled interviews with a selection of our favourite artists and designers you will find at market day this month:

BERNAVUE
THE CREATURE WORKSHOP
CRITTER CLAWS

FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING

FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS
HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS
JUX

LAUREN NICHOLSON

LOWGLO LUMINAIRES

MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS

SABRI DURSI
SCRABBLE KITTY
SPOONFULS OF LOVE
WAFFELIER
Stay tuned for more stall holder interviews and sneaky treats and be sure to like us on Facebook for all sorts of sneaky peek treats.
♥ RSVP here.
♥ Get caught up on our last market day here.
♥ Keep an eye on our ever expanding sneaky peak album here.

♥ And all of you insta lovers should follow us on Instagram @bendandsnapmarket and use hashtag #bendandsnapmarket
♥ Be sure to also check out Rag Trade (also held at 1000 £ Bend) the day before on Saturday 24th August 11:00am to 4:00pm for some double market weekend love, you will find a treasure trove of second hand, vintage, sweet treats and Things Your Nanna Knew workshops.

Huge market weekend. See you all for an inspiration stuffed afternoon delight at Bend and Snap Market on Sunday 25th August 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

Leave a Reply

