Tom Cartoonist and Of Wood & Ash

Image

tom cartoonist.

Image

of wood and ash.

Image

tom cartoonist.

Image

of wood and ash.

We chat to Tom (Tom Cartoonist) and Tyronne (Of Wood and Ash)..

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Tom – Draws fun characters
Whilst listening to Ramones
Don’t forget some cake!

Tyronne – my head’s in the clouds,
cloaked in smoke shrouds.
from burning long dead giants.

Tell us a little about the origins of your work.
Tom – The origins of Tom and his strange ability to draw nothing but cartoon characters is as follows:
Upon learning to eat, talk and walk, Tom discovered that he wasn’t too shabby with a good red crayon either.
As the childhood years past, and he grew and grew, so did his abilities to draw!
But in his teenage years laziness did attack the very core of his creative brain, and he was left unmotivated.
However!! By a wonderful stroke of luck Tom decided to enroll in University a few years later.
And from then on he has fully replenished his artistic integrity, and let it loose upon the world once more!
He just really likes to draw.

Tyronne – I picked up a wood burner at Riot Art a few years ago and decided to try it out. I started trialling out and did lots of works on skateboards and such. I then stopped wood burning for awhile then within the last year I found my creative half and I picked up the burner and started again, doing brooches and artwork all on found objects. I only use found and secondhand object which ties in with my views on sustainability and up cycling. I really enjoy the whole process of sketching something up and then burning it by hand onto the wood.

Describe your creative process.
Tom – Tom’s most common creative process’ will include the following steps:
• Wandering out and about, he’s then suddenly struck by inspiration.
• Runs home to attack the nearest piece of paper with much pencil-work and black ink.
• After his ideas are fleshed out on paper, it’s time to scan scan scan!
• Utilising the wonders of technology he will proceed to crop, clean and colour his art.
• And finally a dash of imagination and quirkiness is tossed into the pot before printing.
• Printed and finished, his artwork is fresh and ready to serve!

Tyronne – I usually either have an idea thats popped into my head during the day that I will draw up when I get home or stare at the wooden piece figuring out how I can use the shape or just let the shape and texture of the wood inspire me.

What inspires you the most?
Tom – The things that most inspire Tom include:
Other cartoonists, abstract paintings, kid’s books, rocking music and walks on the beach.

Tyronne – Nature, symbols, Tolkien (self admitted nerd) and I draw a lot of inspiration from eastern cultures.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers. 
Tom – My friend Tyronne and his crafty wooden creations.
My other friend Roxanne and her superb cross-stitchy pieces.
Tristan Jones and his awesomely professional comic art.
And Jeffrey Cruz because he is a total drawing machine.

TyronneMelissa Grisancich.
Sam Octigan.
Roxanne Baum.
Melbourne Street Art in general.

What are your ultimate dreams for your work?
Tom – Well to talk about my self more seriously for one minute if i can, I just want to keep pushing my artistic abilities!
Pretty basic answer I know but it’s completely true. Every time I look at something I drew years before, I can really see how far I’ve progressed even just as a hobby artist. I would love to one day work in a highly artistic job that really puts my imagination and creativity to the test. Until then I’m just gonna keep having fun creating my crazy crazy cartoon characters. Oh and I’m also writing/drawing a kid’s book. Fun!

Tyronne – For people to continue to enjoy the things I create.

What will will we find from Tom Cartoonist and Of Wood and Ash at our September Bend and Snap Market? 
Tom – So at the upcoming market you shall find original prints of my cartoons, some framed, some not. How exciting!
If you’re very lucky there will also be some gift-card/postcard type of things too. But only if you’re lucky.
And you’ll of course find my good self, who is most looking forward to meeting you all! Cheerio.

Tyronne – A wooden exhibit and a little sticky…

 

Hello Spring! IT IS OUR 2ND BIRTHDAY THIS MONTH!!! Check out a little bend and snap retrospective of our first year here and come celebrate our second fabulous year of creation and wonder and feast on a big delicious banquet of art, design, fashion and vintage. Play with us in our steamy Crafternoon Corner presented by the MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS see the steamy deets here), binge on sweet treats all day with us and let your inspiration burst with all the wonderful wares on display from all of our darling stall holders: AGNES & I, BEDFORD GROVE, BIND I FOLD, BOHO BIRD JEWELLERY, BONNIE BIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CRITTER CLAWS, THE DESIGN COURT, EELAV MCBEE, FORGET ME KNOTT, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, FUTUREKIND, THE GIRL & HER NIGHTINGALE, HANNAKIN, HANDMOOD, HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS, HONEY & VINEGAR, JUX, LORETTA D’ONOFRIO, LOW GLO LUMINAIRES, M’AGAPI, ME-U, MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MONTAGE MOSAICS, OF WOOD AND ASH, PRECIOUS LITTLE SAKURA, RUBY LOUISE, RUN WILD HORSES, SAHAURA, SEBO-HANDMADE JEWELLERY, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, TOM CARTOONIST & VERA CHAN.

RSVP here.
See our sneaky peek album here.

Follow us on Instagram @bendandsnapmarket and use hashtag #bendandsnapmarket

See see you all for our market birthday bash this on Sunday 29th September 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

* Please note the for the month of October our market date will be held on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm, be sure to pencil it in!!!

Leave a Reply

