Courtney Elise

We chat to Courtney Elise, the lovely lady behind The Design Court.

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.

Handmade floral smocks

Young kids can be hipsters too

We can make it so

Tell us a little about the origins of Courtney Elise.

Courtney Elise is a childrens wear label that is bright, fun, floral and functional. Composed of reversible smock dresses and overalls, the label has a trendy retro feel. All pieces are hand made in a Brunswick shop/studio, The Design Court, which is found at 15 Sparta Place (just off of Sydney Road.)

photo 1

Describe your creative process. 

My creative process often occurs barefoot, to music that makes you sway. Or it is accompanied by a friend dropping in to the shop for a cup of tea and a chat. I see no line between what I do for work and how I live and enjoy my life. I live to create and I create to live (pay the dollar dollar bills yo!) I will often meet a friend for coffee or a wine and pull a half sewn dress from my hand bag and say “you don’t mind if I work on this while we catch up, do you?”

What inspires you the most? 

I am inspired by stunning textile prints. I love clashing colours and florals in a way that just works! I am also inspired (warmed to the bottom of my heart) by appreciative customers. Their kind words and encouragement make me want to lock myself in my studio and continue creating at a crazy rate, until the very end of my life!

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.

I am inspired by a lot of local designers who I stock at the store; people who work in very different mediums to myself. To begin with, illustrator/artist Alyson Pearson who makes the most incredible limited edition prints of her work. She uses biro, watercolour and then her crazy good photoshopping skills to put it all together (I have her work above my bed at home too!)

Then there is Foxglove Botanicals who are a floral design studio who create the most amazing arrangements for my shop every week. They literally brighten my store with their work. I am also in awe of people who can run such a successful business with the most gorgeous and generous hearts… they are the kind of people who I want to spend my money with. (see the stall holder interview with the darlings from Foxglove Botanicals here.)

I am so in love with the work of Ernest and Jo. They are a mother and daughter team, who create intricate and unique jewellery by hand, using 100% recycled Australian sterling silver. My collection of their rings grows steadily… alas, I leave some for my customers to buy too!

Lastly (well not lastly, because I could go on all day) I love the work of my neighbour at the store, Ellinor Mazza. She owns Arbor, a stunning little jewellery store, but she also finds time to create her own pieces. I particularly like her new range of pendants that are powder coated in brilliant colours. Oh, and she is also really good at baking vegan treats…what a talented babe!

What are your ultimate dreams for Courtney Elise

My ultimate dreams for Courtney Elise, is that it continues to grow and develop as a label, yet stays small enough and precious enough that it will always be made ethically, with love and to the highest quality possible. I have stunning friends who have studied/work in fashion, and my ultimate dream would be to employ them to work for the label. I basically just want my studio to be a happy place where I can chat and laugh with my besties, and see that happy energy shine through the finished products that we create… I must admit that this happens to some extent already.

What will will we find from Courtney Elise at our September Bend and Snap Market?

At the September market there will be a lot of fresh new prints and colours, perfect for leading your little person in to a fashionable (practical) summer. I will also have some additional fun bits and bobs that I have been working on, including quilts, cushions and bright clay necklaces. In a word, you can expect colour!

Hello Spring! IT IS OUR 2ND BIRTHDAY THIS MONTH!!! Check out a little bend and snap retrospective of our first year here and come celebrate our second fabulous year of creation and wonder and feast on a big delicious banquet of art, design, fashion and vintage. Play with us in our steamy Crafternoon Corner presented by the MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS see the steamy deets here), binge on sweet treats all day with us and let your inspiration burst with all the wonderful wares on display from all of our darling stall holders: AGNES & I, BEDFORD GROVE, BIND I FOLD, BOHO BIRD JEWELLERY, BONNIE BIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CRITTER CLAWS, THE DESIGN COURT, EELAV MCBEE, FORGET ME KNOTT, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, FUTUREKIND, THE GIRL & HER NIGHTINGALE, HANNAKIN, HANDMOOD, HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS, HONEY & VINEGAR, JUX, LORETTA D’ONOFRIO, LOW GLO LUMINAIRES, M’AGAPI, ME-U, MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MONTAGE MOSAICS, OF WOOD AND ASH, PRECIOUS LITTLE SAKURA, RUBY LOUISE, RUN WILD HORSES, SAHAURA, SEBO-HANDMADE JEWELLERY, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, TOM CARTOONIST & VERA CHAN.

RSVP here.
See our sneaky peek album here.

Follow us on Instagram @bendandsnapmarket and use hashtag #bendandsnapmarket

See see you all for our market birthday bash this on Sunday 29th September 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

* Please note the for the month of October our market date will be held on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm, be sure to pencil it in!!!

Leave a Reply

