Neilshy

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku
pronunciation
of neilshy is neilshe
I make lovely lights
as light falls softly
an edison light bulb dims
man in shed conquers!
Tell us a little about the origins of Neilshy.
I studied Furniture Construction & Design in Glasgow in the 1990’s. I’ve always built furniture for myself and had a fascination with lighting whilst studying. After moving to Australia in 2004 I slowly began to build up my tool collection and develop my workspace but only ever worked on hobby projects as I worked full time in offices. In 2011 I left my job to follow the creative path that I’ve had the urge to pursue since I was young. I’ve always loved working with my hands and decided that it was now or never. I work freelance in art departments for film and TV and build furniture, lighting and props out of my home workshop.
Describe your creative process.
I’m a little bit of a hoarder of ‘things’. I love old camera equipment, machinery, motors, gauges, rusted items, mechanical objects, science equipment etc etc – I have a very specific aesthetic and know when I see something special if it could be incorporated or turned into a light. I tend to buy up anything that I’m attracted to and store it in the knowledge that it will come in useful someday. That may be the next day, or it could sit in my workshop for 3 years and then find it’s home. I generally pull the main item out onto my workbench and look at it for a while, working out ways I could work a lamp holder into it, where I can make space for cable, how I’ll take the item apart, what other parts I have that could compliment – I get a mental image quite quickly but putting it into practice often takes longer. I then start to disassemble, salvaging any of the internal parts of objects that might be worth keeping. I find the most exciting part of a build is the ‘hunt’ for parts that work. I love rummaging around, working my way through objects that I’ve collected and then coming across the bizarre part that I bought years earlier that somehow now seems like it was destined for the object that I’m working on.
I’ll quite often have 2 or 3 projects on the go, leave one when I reach a hurdle, work on another and then by the time I come back to the hurdle, I’ve worked out a way of how to get over it.
What inspires you the most? 
People who are proactive and prolific. Too many folk tell you about things that they are going to do but never follow through. I always admire, and am inspired by the ones who put their money where their mouth is and have a go.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
I have always been a fan of printmaker/dry point etcher – Clare Whitney and own a few of her works.
I also have my first baby on the way and have just bought some of Hannakin‘s work. They are in the process of being framed and are going to look great in the new room!
What are your ultimate dreams for Neilshy?
In an ideal world I’d be able to work full time from my home workshop, expand my space – move onto working on some larger items of furniture and have more storage space. If there was a proper extraction system in my workshop, I’d be really happy too.
What will we find from Neilshy at our October Bend and Snap Market?
Lights that no-one else in the world will own. There will be a selection of lamps made from Super8 cameras, Polaroids, pressure gauges, bowser filters, amperes gauges, vintage builders levels and old-school science equipment to name a few…

Hello market lovers. We will be having our usual monthly art design fashion and vintage soiree a week earlier this month on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm. This months market day will include a little collaborative drawing fun with the JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE and friends sketch party, an origami themed crafternoon corner, photobooth fun with THE CAFE BAG, frost, clouds, fibres and bike flags as we are welcome a whole load of new stall holders to the pack and a selection of our usual favourites: BETTY HANNER, BOLD AND STRIKING, THE CAFE BAG, DREAMING CO. ♧, EELAV MCBEE, ELIZABETH AND MARY, FROST YOURSELF, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GIRL IN A CLOUD, JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, NEILSHY, NINE YAKS, ONE WAY WORKSHOP, SAHAURA, SHARNTAY, SWEETHEART SMASH, UNICORN THREAD, ZIN AND BERT and many more.

Click attend here.
Peek at our sneaky peek album here.
Catch up on our last market day in September here.

And market lovers, be sure to check out Rag Trade at 1000 £ Bend the day before on Saturday 19th October 11:00am to 4:00pm for a wonderful selection of second hand and vintage clothing, beautiful hand made items, the Things Your Nanna Knew mending workshop and a FLOWER CROWN station to get you set for a summer of lovvve. More on the blog here.

See you at all at market day, Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

 

Leave a Reply

