Sharntay

ImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.

My mind is filled with

Beautiful things people miss

Artists recreate

 

Tell us a little about the origins of Sharntay

The brand ‘Sharntay‘ cames from the first half of my first and last name put together 🙂 I first started drawing when I was really young and never thought much of it, I never really had much interest in art until I studied design in high school and decided to study Cert 4 in Design after high school. I realized my heart was in drawing and creating beautiful handmade images. I steered away from digital work and focused more on traditional media. I then found an illustration course at NMIT which was amazing and really guided my path and gave me the skills to be where I am now. I have always loved fashion and although I have tried different subject matter to illustrate, I keep coming back to fashion illustration. I have been working with fashion designers, make up artists, art directors, graphic designers and photographers. I love my job! Describe your creative process. I am always researching other artists/illustrators/designers as well as beautiful images that spark ideas. For a personal project I will start with an idea and just go with what I feel and have no idea how it is going to end up, I love the freedom of working freely and making ‘happy accidents.’ However for clients I work to a specific brief, I do research and then draw up roughs to show the client to make sure we’re on same page. I then begin working on the illustration by hand and then scan it into photoshop when it is done and make any changes I need to. There are a lot of advantages with technology, although I love everything about handmade images, there is something personal and unique about them.

 

What inspires you the most?

Tough question, everything inspires me, I can be looking at a cup of coffee and mind will run away with crazy ideas 🙂 Other creative people inspire me, beautiful work, fashion blogs/shows, movies, music, photography, the list is endless. Talking to other creative people probably inspires me the most. Hearing passionate people who live and breathe what they do is so inspiring, it also gets me really excited talking about my work because I love it so much.

 

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.

Hmm well a couple of girl I went to school with are pretty amazing- Emma Leonard and Sally Land. I also have a very talented friend Julie Tran who makes and designs amazing jewellery.

 

What are your ultimate dreams for Sharntay?

I would love to be illustrating/designing internationally for fashion editorial publications. I also want to have different styles in my work – a fine art style, a simple fashion design style as well as my commercial style. I don’t want to limit my work to just 2D, I am currently collaborating with several other disciplines to spread my work over several different areas. But at the end of the day I just want to continue to wake up excited everyday to create beautiful images for other people to enjoy.

 

What will we find from Sharntay at our October Bend and Snap Market? 

You will find some beautiful images that make me happy and hopefully they will make you happy too 🙂

 

Hello market lovers. We will be having our usual monthly art design fashion and vintage soiree a week earlier this month on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm. This months market day will include a little collaborative drawing fun with the JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE and friends sketch party, an origami themed crafternoon corner, photobooth fun with THE CAFE BAG, frost, clouds, fibres and bike flags as we are welcome a whole load of new stall holders to the pack and a selection of our usual favourites: BETTY HANNER, BOLD AND STRIKING, THE CAFE BAG, DREAMING CO. ♧, EELAV MCBEE, ELIZABETH AND MARY, FROST YOURSELF, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GIRL IN A CLOUD, JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, NEILSHY, NINE YAKS, ONE WAY WORKSHOP, SAHAURA, SHARNTAY, SWEETHEART SMASH, UNICORN THREAD, ZIN AND BERT and many more.

Click attend here.
Peek at our sneaky peek album here.
Catch up on our last market day in September here.

And market lovers, be sure to check out Rag Trade at 1000 £ Bend the day before on Saturday 19th October 11:00am to 4:00pm for a wonderful selection of second hand and vintage clothing, beautiful hand made items, the Things Your Nanna Knew mending workshop and a FLOWER CROWN station to get you set for a summer of lovvve. More on the blog here.

See you at all at market day, Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

Leave a Reply

