Mad Science At Work

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku. 

 Now discovering,
Novel and Unexpected
Edging sanity
Tell us a little about the origins of Mad Science At Work. 
I am a constant tinkerer and dreamer.  In the past I have worked with costumes, robots made of recycled bits, high voltage devices, and the occasional “Quack Science” device.  As a professional I have worked as a chef at many places including research stations in Antarctica.  In the culinary field, I enjoy pushing the boundaries and following my own rules.  This coupled with a touch of molecular gastronomy has led to some quite magical moments.
The jewelry side of me has been from my desire to express and create something beautiful and longer lasting than a meal.  Naturally my love of Mad Science has bled over into my jeweler side and that is how my artist site came about.
Describe your creative process. 
Well, it’s messy and cluttered.  Bits and pieces fly around and countless half created projects are in the works.  I am on the constant look out for new parts and pieces that inspire me.  Heck, just last week I accidentally stumbled into a little antique store on Smith Street and ended up buying 2 spoons simply because I liked how deep they where.
Occasionally I find focus, sit down, and throw on a daggy podcast (Joe Rogan Experience, Mystery Universe, Radiolab, and The Bugle are but a few) and work for a few hours at my desk while sipping on tea and staring out the window.   These are my favorite moments.
What inspires you the most? 
Discovering something new, whether it be a new piece of art, culinary creation, or even just a new landscape.  My mind feels alive when it is challenged, when it is pioneering and surpassing novel bewilderment. 
Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
I rather enjoy the work of Fyodor Krasniy with Madness and Tea http://madnessandtea.com.au/.  Especially his silhouette work.
What are your ultimate dreams for Mad Science At Work? 
Ultimately, I would like to get back into and be able to afford to build high voltage devices.  I have been dreaming for years of having a stage show with two large audio modulated Solid State Tesla Coils with me dancing among giant 2-3 meter sparks.  (For reference, this is one of my Tesla Coils http://imgur.com/7KH0ne1)
What will will we find from Mad Science At Work at our October Bend and Snap Market?  
Well, I have raided the cutlery cupboard and took apart some spoons for pendants, I have also come across these awesome old glass vials containing watch parts that paired well with some recent purchases of glow stones.
However, my favorite new pieces are my snow globe pendants built from antique glass syringes.  I like the idea of jewelry being dynamic and ever changing.  These are a great example of that.

Hello market lovers. We will be having our usual monthly art design fashion and vintage soiree a week earlier this month on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm. This months market day will include a little collaborative drawing fun with the JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE and friends sketch party, an origami themed crafternoon corner, photobooth fun with THE CAFE BAG, frost, clouds, fibres and bike flags as we are welcome a whole load of new stall holders to the pack and a selection of our usual favourites: BETTY HANNER, BOLD AND STRIKING, THE CAFE BAG, DREAMING CO. ♧, EELAV MCBEE, ELIZABETH AND MARY, FROST YOURSELF, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GIRL IN A CLOUD, JOINING FORCES COLLECTIVE, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, NEILSHY, NINE YAKS, ONE WAY WORKSHOP, SAHAURA, SHARNTAY, SWEETHEART SMASH, UNICORN THREAD, ZIN AND BERT and many more.

Click attend here.
Peek at our sneaky peek album here.
Catch up on our last market day in September here.

And market lovers, be sure to check out Rag Trade at 1000 £ Bend the day before on Saturday 19th October 11:00am to 4:00pm for a wonderful selection of second hand and vintage clothing, beautiful hand made items, the Things Your Nanna Knew mending workshop and a FLOWER CROWN station to get you set for a summer of lovvve. More on the blog here.

See you at all at market day, Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

Leave a Reply

