Julie’s Little World

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

We peak into the world of Julie’s Little World

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Julie likes to paint
with pretty colours and words
for her little world

Tell us a little about the origins of Julie’s Little World.
Julie’s Little World started out in late 2011, when I had plenty of spare time after work hours doing nothing. I’ve always loved drawing and being creative with my work, so picking up water colour painting as a hobby felt natural to me, but at the same time life changing. I found myself spending late nights just exploring the use of different colours and having fun painting what I saw.

I started painting a little character that resembled myself and quotes that made myself feel inspired. These little paintings were shared upon my blog at the time, and I unexpectedly received a lot of positive feedback, which only fuelled me to keep going and creating more. Eventually I summed up the courage to create a Facebook Fan page and that only encouraged me more to keep on painting because of all the support I received from my friends and family. It was quite overwhelming and exciting. I have to say, I was scared out of my wits of what was happening, but over 2 years from then, I’m thankful every day that I decided to pursue this dream for Julie’s Little World. What started out as a simple painting hobby has grown into a little painting business that I’m proud of, something I couldn’t imagine was possible a couple years back.

Describe your creative process.
I like to doodle out my ideas in my sketchbook whenever I can, so you’ll most likely find that I have my pencils and paper ready whenever I’m out. I prepare up multiple drafts for commission work and providing potential colour studies before I can begin my final paintings. However if I’m painting for myself, I usually just like to sit at my desk and paint what I’m feeling, whether it’s words or a little character displaying my mood.

What inspires you the most?
Ultimately inspirational quotes and simple words inspire me. I particularly love to paint words and work on my hand typography, which is what I’ve been doing a lot this year. You’re welcome to check out my ‘Little Reminders’ collection of paintings from my Facebook page. However there are nights where I come across beautiful or sweet photos from tumblr, and become inspired to just paint it. Those are usually the best nights where I just do what I feel with my painting because there are no restrictions.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Emily Green
Emma Leonard Illustrations
K is for Kani
Sweet William
Cat-Rabbit
Hannakin

What are your ultimate dreams for Julie’s Little World?
I’ve recently been asked to list all of my dreams and goals of all kinds for Julie’s Little World, no matter how crazy and impossible it may sound. So I started listing them down. I dream of being able to see my work being stocked at big name card shops and companies. I dream of having my work printed as cushion covers (on everything really!) and making plush toys/figurines out of my characters. The list kept growing and I just kept dreaming. When it comes down to it, my ultimate dream is to own my own little boutique where I can sell my paintings and handicrafts. I’ll base my first ever boutique in Melbourne, then set up stores across Australia and then possibly around the world! (wow!) This dream has already got me shaking in my boots with excitement! Then I decided to take one step further in my dreaming and imagined building a Julie’s Little World Adventure Park where there’ll be rides and games for all ages! Now I know how ridiculous that sounds (it actually makes me laugh!), but that’s the wonderful thing about dreaming big and aiming high. The only way is up! Just gotta keep moving forward and continue learning!

What will we find from Julie’s Little World at our November Bend and Snap Market?
I’m currently working on having a lot of little hand painted goodies for you guys! There will be mini paintings, card paintings, tote bags, wooden postcards and greeting cards! I’ll also have my new collection of Christmas cards and new art prints available for November’s market, and I can’t wait to share it with you guys! 😀 There’ll definitely be little free give aways for those who spend $15 and over at my little stall!

See you all at our next market day on Sunday 24th November 11:00am to 4:00pm (event details here, peek at our november sneaky peek here and catch up on our last market day here) with even more art and design frenzy featuring: AGNES & I, AMINEKO THE CROCHET CAT, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CUTE HAPPY ROUND, DESMOND WOLF, DO I KNOW YOU, THE DUSTY CARAVAN, DREAMING CO. ♧, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, ELIZABETH & MARY, FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GOLDEN SKULL CANDLES, THE GORJESS CLOSETHOLLIE M KELLEY, INKLING PRESS PAPER, JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD, JUX, KATH YULE LIGHT SHADES, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, ME-U, THE MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MERCURIALIST, PANCHO’S FOOTWEAR, PEPPERMINT FOX, RUN WILD HORSES, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, SWEETHEART SMASH  and more.

Leave a Reply

