Desmond Wolf

ImageImage

We lust over leather craft, mystery braids and hand tooling with Clementine from Desmond Wolf.

 

I make simple leather goods the old fashioned way: hand cut, hand carved, hand dyed, and hand finished. I have had the privilege of studying Western floral and Sheridan style tooling with leathercraft masters Al Gould and Chan Geer. All my pieces are one-offs: even when certain designs are repeated, each individual item has its own unique qualities. Unless otherwise noted in the product descriptions, I generally begin with veg tanned leather or cowhide, both of which impart a certain personality to the piece by way of the  natural range marks, scars, and scratches that often adorn these hides. Rather than seeing these as imperfections, I encourage you to appreciate their odd beauty. There are a bunch of leather items in my wardrobe that I’ve had since I was little, including one belt that was my grandmother’s in the 1930s. It’s my hope that you’ll find something of your own to treasure in this store.

 

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Internet addict
Returns to the olden days
Via leatherwork

Tell us a little about the origins of Desmond Wolf.
It all started last year when, on a lonely Christmas morning (my first spent alone and overseas), I ended up Googling “how do you sew leather” and stumbled upon George Hurst’s leathercraft videos and, later, Al Stohlman’s incredible work from the 1950s and ’60s. From there I went completely bananas consuming just about every Stohlman book I could find, and have dedicated a great deal of my time, when I’m not working on my day job as a journalist, to my leatherwork training.  

Describe your creative process.
It’s pretty haphazard, but generally begins with either a design that I’d like to tool/carve (usually floral), or a new dye; sometimes just the colours themselves can be pretty inspirational.

What inspires you the most?
I’m really interested in melding classic American leathercraft techniques like Sheridan and Western floral tooling and mystery braids with a more modern sensibility, and even working in “fantasy armour” designs like Elvish and Celtic knotwork and… hey, where are you going?

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.  
Beci Orpin
Hopeless Lingerie
Ben Montero
Celeste Potter

What are your ultimate dreams for Desmond Wolf?
They’re pretty modest, really: I want to make things that people will treasure and wear until they fall apart. NB this will take a long time, of course, because my workmanship is pretty on point, but you get the picture.

What will will we find from Desmond Wolf at our November Bend and Snap Market? 
So much! Hand-tooled (hur hur) condom wallets, notebook covers, mystery braid cuffs and bracelets, purses, belts, key fobs, and earrings!

 

See you all at our next market day on Sunday 24th November 11:00am to 4:00pm (event details here, peek at our november sneaky peek here and catch up on our last market day here) with even more art and design frenzy featuring: AGNES & I, AMINEKO THE CROCHET CAT, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CUTE HAPPY ROUND, DESMOND WOLF, DO I KNOW YOU, THE DUSTY CARAVAN, DREAMING CO. ♧, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, ELIZABETH & MARY, FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GOLDEN SKULL CANDLES, THE GORJESS CLOSETHOLLIE M KELLEY, INKLING PRESS PAPER, JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD, JUX, KATH YULE LIGHT SHADES, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, ME-U, THE MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MERCURIALIST, PANCHO’S FOOTWEAR, PEPPERMINT FOX, RUN WILD HORSES, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, SWEETHEART SMASH  and more.

Leave a Reply

