The Dusty Caravan

ImageImageImage

We ruffle some feathers with Hollie from The Dusty Caravan (be sure to also check out her art work here).
 
Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Wistful wanderer
Collecting everything
Seeking odd beauty

Tell us a little about the origins of The Dusty Caravan.
I started dabbling with The Dusty Caravan in my final year of a Fine Art degree in 2009. I was taking gold and silversmithing classes as well as my compulsory painting ones and discovered that I enjoyed using a lot of different creative mediums to make art. I started making jewellery from vintage collector cards under glass tiles and 1950s glass stones. The label evolved out of a compulsion to make things, but not at the expense of the environment. I am on a constant search for recycled and ethically sourced materials to make jewellery.
I also make natural history drawings under my own name. In the past I’ve tried to keep The Dusty Caravan and my illustration work separate but I now find the two are inextricably linked so I am hoping to merge the two together somewhat.
 
The Dusty Caravan is my little 1950’s Carapark caravan that was found on an abandoned farm and lovingly restored. This little van serves as my label’s namesake. One day I will take it travelling around Australia and visit all the markets along the way.
 
Describe your creative process.
It always starts with strong coffee. To get started I usually do a few scribbles and loosen up a bit before spending the day jumping back and forth between adding details to my specimen drawings and making jewellery. I find the two processes work well together because drawing involves so much concentration on the one small area that it can be quite draining so it’s nice to step back after a few hours and change my focus over to jewellery- even though it is quite detailed work too haha. I have to have music playing in the background, and my partner Ryan shares the studio with me so we bounce ideas back and forth throughout the day…  
 
What inspires you the most?
The little things in life, like a good meal, finding a nice feather when walking or a little specimen on the ground.
 
I like to watch docos and web videos when I need a bit of inspiration. I’ve recently discovered Claire Bowditch’s site Big Hearted Business and have started watching her inspiration bombs when I need a bit of a lift. TED talks are often my go to for online inspiration.
 
Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Artmakers:
 
Jewellery makers:
 
What are your ultimate dreams for The Dusty Caravan?
I would love to do more collaborations… I would love to see my illustrations on garments…
Eventually I’d love find a business partner for The Dusty Caravan, to take care of the business side of things and allow me to focus on the making side more. That would be ideal for later down the track..
 
What will will we find from The Dusty Caravan at our November Bend and Snap Market?
Lots of one off feather earrings with ethically sourced feathers, leathers and metals, vintage glass studs in lots of colours and sizes, neckpieces and one of a kind costume/statement pieces.
I am hoping to squeeze some illustration pieces into the space too!
 
See you all at our next market day THIS WEEKEND on Sunday 24th November 11:00am to 4:00pm (event details here, peek at our november sneaky peek here and catch up on our last market day here) with even more art and design frenzy featuring: AGNES & I, AMINEKO THE CROCHET CAT, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CUTE HAPPY ROUND, DESMOND WOLF, DO I KNOW YOU, THE DUSTY CARAVAN, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, ELIZABETH & MARY, FOXGLOVE BOTANICALS, THE GIRL AND HER NIGHTINGALE, GOLDEN SKULL CANDLES, THE GORJESS CLOSETHOLLIE M KELLEY, INKLING PRESS PAPER, JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD, JUX, KATH YULE LIGHT SHADES, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, ME-U, THE MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MERCURIALIST, PANCHO’S FOOTWEAR, PEPPERMINT FOX, RUN WILD HORSES, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPIRIT OF LIGHT ESSENCES, SPOONFULS OF LOVE and more.
Leave a Reply

