Cute Happy Round

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku
What more can I say?
cute happy round’ says it all.
Made to make you smile

Tell us a little about the origins of Cute Happy Round.
Honestly, it all started by coincidence.

I had done a 3-month graphic design course back in ‘07 and loved the idea of graphic design, but didn’t like the idea of working for other people and didn’t know how to constructively use these skills. I have helped out friends with a few designs over the years, with wedding invitations, band posters and websites, but none of that really brought me the joy or satisfaction that I wanted from design. I’d always loved drawing as a kid, but thought I’d grown out of it.

I was left at home alone for a few nights in a row last year and had to find something to do with myself. So I opened my old design programs and decided to have a play around… I started with a circle, then I drew another circle, and before I knew it, I was creating a snowman, even though it wasn’t Christmas, just because I could. And I loved it, I felt like I did when I was a kid drawing again, but now in the world of computers, and I wanted to do it again and again with new ideas. This soon turned into a secret range of Christmas cards. I kept it a secret from pretty much every one I knew just in case I wasn’t 100% happy with them or didn’t think it could go anywhere for me, but I was pretty proud of my work, and these are the Christmas cards I am now selling today 🙂

Describe your creative process.
I don’t really have a set way of doing things, and it’s more often than not that the random and unexpected ideas that are the best…(this is when the ‘notes’ section of my phone gets used a lot). But a good old-fashioned brain-storm with pen and paper has been really good for me, especially for cards that play on words (like my ‘Otterly devoted to you’ and ‘I love you this mush’ cards). I don’t want to do what’s already been done, and if I do, I want to make it my own. I have some more to be released like this in 2014 which I’m excited about.

Time is also very important. Putting in enough hours to be able to play around with a design and decide what works, and what doesn’t, and being critical of my own work and having certain standards keeps me wanting to improve. Hand drawing thumbnails (small pictures of my design) before I start on the computer is a good way to envision what the card is going to look like, and printing throughout the creation of a card as sometimes things that I thought looked good on the computer screen can look strange or out of place when printed. So basically the designs of my cards can change many times throughout their creation as ideas fail and evolve, which is time consuming, but it keeps me open-minded and makes the design process more exciting and fulfilling.

What inspires you the most?
Something simple done really well, whether it be design/artwork, humor or word play. Good vector artwork is also a big one (which is basically just computer-based design/artwork). I could look at a good piece of vector artwork for hours and never get bored and I’m constantly learning new ways to do things by looking at other designer’s work. But that doesn’t mean they have to be complicated designs either, they just have to have certain considerations for the smaller details.

I absolutely love the simplicity of ‘Pusheen’ animations (pusheen.com) and ‘My Cardboard Life’ (mycardboardlife.com),  and Artist’s like Rubens Cantuni who does Tokyo Candies (tokyocandies.com) is also inspiring – his characters are very round! Even on a totally non ‘cute happy round’ level, artist’s like GodMachine (godmachine.co.uk) who do really cool-looking, darker and more complex types of illustration are incredibly inspiring. They show that dedication and practice can allow one to do such amazing things.

I also love the use of different textures and typography in artwork, but am yet to give them a go myself.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Julie’s Little World
Milk + Cookies
Cat-Rabbit
Hannakin
Vilen and Elliven Clothing (both by the same designer).

What are your ultimate dreams for Cute Happy Round?
BIG ONES! … maybe a little too big for the time-being. I have a long list of ideas that I hope to one day soon start checking off and branch out from just doing paper-goods, but I have to keep reminding myself that I’m still very new at this and that it’s ok to go slow. I’d love to be able to be successful enough to do this full-time one day and have ‘cute happy round’ known all over the world.

What will will we find from Cute Happy Round at our December Bend and Snap Market?  
Lots of very cute Christmas cards 🙂 and at this time of year, what could be better! I will also have Christmas gift tags, badges and magnets, and a couple of other non-Christmas cards.

See you all at our next market day… This month we will be bringing you not just one day filled with market love but an ENTIRE WEEKEND of art, design, fashion and vintage wonders, sweet treats, a gift wrapping station with locally designed gift wrap created by textile designer ME.U DESIGN and lots of fun times.

We will be having our market day on both Saturday 21st December 11:00am to 4:00pm and Sunday 22nd December 11:00am to 4:00pm with an expansive emporium of amazement with: AGNI LASS, BOLD AND STRIKING, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTREADS, CREATE COMMUNITY, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CRITTER CLAWS, CUTE HAPPY ROUND, DESMOND WOLF, DREAMING CO. ♧, EELAV MCBEE, ELIZABETH & MARY, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, GIRL IN A CLOUD, THE GIRL NIGHTINGALE, GOLDEN SKULL CANDLES, HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS, HERBERT FOUND & HERBERT MADE, JUX, LIBERTY’S HEART, LOWGLO LUMINAIRES, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, MADE INC., ME-U, MIA CHICKADEE, MOOM SHOOM, MONTAGE MOSAICS, PEPPERMINT FOX, PRECIOUS LITTLE SAKURA, ROXANNE COLK, RUBY LOUISE, SCRABBLE KITTY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL ME, STEF COLLECTIONS, SPIRIT OF LIGHT, VICKI LEIGH JEWELLERY, ZIN & BERT and much much more over the weekend, you will find CUTE HAPPY ROUND at market day on Saturday 21st December 11:00am to 4:00pm.

Stay tuned for all of the sneaky peaks, wishlists and stall holder interviews to prepare you for all of the market fun we will be having for our Bend and Snap Market Weekend on Saturday 21st December 11:00am to 4:00pm to Sunday 22nd December 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend.

Leave a Reply

