EmBrass

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Grown from the mountains

Shiny, natural and rough

Handcrafted with love

Tell us a little about the origins of EmBrass.

After graduating from the Amsterdam Fashion Institute in the Nederlands in 2009 I started making accessories and leather jewellery with a good friend. This become a huge passion of mine, however had to be sidelined due to my plans to travel and move abroad indefinitely. During my travels I spent 7 months in India and Nepal where I started silversmithing and took a number of classes and courses. I soon purchased a toolkit and begin experimenting and creating my own designs. In mid 2013 I moved to Melbourne where I continued my passion for creating jewellery and began selling my items on Etsy and now at my very first Bend & Snap market, which I’m super excited about.

Describe your creative process.


My creative process is fuelled by the individual crystals I am working with. Every item is made from scratch and without any sketches, mainly because each stone is unique and so are my designs. I sometimes might try to replicate one of my designs by using a similar stone; however they always turn out slightly different and all of my pieces are one of a kind, much like the people purchasing the item. I believe it is more meaningful to wear something that is unique, like yourself. Most of my designs are created in my Brunswick-based home, where I also design made to order jewellery specific to the persons wishes.

What inspires you the most?

My inspiration comes from the many beautiful things we are surrounded by in our everyday lives and all the things I’ve seen and felt during my travels. I like to use and draw from these experiences in my designs. The actual individual crystal also inspires and intrigues me with the way it has formed and its shapes and metaphysical properties. I handle each crystal with love and care, as to me they are natures finest artwork and each crystal has its own strengths & personality. I also love the contrast in their shapes, colors and sizes. My designs are either very big, rough and out there or very minimalistic. I love finding a balance between both.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.

I recently discovered a Melbourne based company called UrbanCrafter on Etsy who sell amazing and affordable D.I.Y kits to make funky/quirky stuff for your home. I love this concept ‘cause all these things are relatively easy to make and appeals to a large portion of people who don’t want to go through the effort or don’t have the time to find all the required individual products they need. These days people prefer something that is unique and handmade with love over some mass production item and I think UrbanCrafters are doing an amazing job at promoting this concept and making it easy for people.

What are your ultimate dreams for EmBrass?

I would love to get my Masters degree in Metalwork and learn how to work with modern and old production techniques to broaden my knowledge. I would use this knowledge to expand my line and someday hopefully be able to run EmBrass fulltime, doing what I love most.


What will will we find from EmBrass at our February Bend and Snap Market?



A lot of rings, some pendants and earrings, made with silver and crystals. You can expect lots of oxidized (black) silver items and rough crystals as well as light, polished stones. 

Furthermore I sell some brass jewelry like armlets and rings that I did not make myself but brought from overseas. Besides that I’ll have a collection of polished stones that can be purchased per piece.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/embrass

Come play at our first market for the year on Sunday 23rd February 11:00am to 4:00pm (event deets here and take a peek at our sneaky peek here) at 1000 £ Bend with a range of delightful art and design delights and sweet things to munch on and/or or lather yourself with in these last days of this hot hot summer.

We will also have our friends from THE SUSTAINABLE TABLE presenting our crafternoon corner this month as part of the SUSTAINABLE LIVING FESTIVAL. Learn how to make flowers and vases from plastic food waste. The plastic wonders will be used to theme a Zero-Waste long lunch held on Clean Up Australia Day in March.

February stallholders include: AGNES & I, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BYRNE DESIGN CO., THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CULTURE TEA, DESMOND WOLF, EMBRASS, THE GIRL NIGHTINGALE, METTA SKINCARE, ODE TO ELMA, RATHER LITTLE, ROUTINE, SEBO HANDMADE JEWELLERY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL ME, TIMBER ARCADIA, UNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more.

 

Leave a Reply

