Ode To Elma

ImageImageImage

Tell us a little about Ode to Elma using a Haiku.

Reuse repurpose

New life for the forgotten

Chic eco-design

Tell us a little about the origins of Ode To Elma.

Ode to Elma began as a release from the drudgery of a 9-5 job. Needing a creative outlet I set up a little studio in the corner of my lounge room and it went from there. I had always had a love of reworking items of clothing trawling op shops for that ‘find’ and altering them to achieve the look I was wanting which led me to complete a Diploma in Fashion Design and Technology. I had also dabbled in making my own jewellery so it seemed like a natural step to explore this more combining creative design with repurposing and reworking materials.

Describe your creative process.

Up-cycling is at the core of my designs with my philosophy being ‘re-cycling by re-using to re-create’. I have a very tactile approach, I don’t tend to do design sketches or anything like that. The material I am using generally renders the initial idea and then it is a matter of experimenting and manipulating the material to get the desired outcome.


What inspires you the most?

I draw inspiration from ordinary everyday things around me. I like to look at everyday things in different ways and taking discarded items or waste material and creating an entirely new product giving it a new function and purpose is what inspires me. There is so much wastage in today’s society that if I can do my small part while creating jewellery that is contemporary and unique and that people want to wear then I am happy.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.

One local sculpture and installation artist who does some amazing work is Antonia Goodfellow. She uses a lot of recycled and repurposed materials in her work, one in particular is a large sphere covered with bike tyres. You can see a picture of it under the “works” page on her website – www.antoniagoodfellow.com/

What are your ultimate dreams for Ode To Elma?

I would love to expand beyond jewellery into other products and develop a sustainable homewares range. I am currently experimenting with creating lampshades out of paper pulp which is messy but a lot of fun…..so stay tuned, Ode to Elma sustainable lampshades could be here sooner rather than later.

What will we find from Ode To Elma at our February Bend and Snap Market?

Contemporary jewellery that is individually handcrafted from up-cycled materials making each piece unique as well as being kind to the environment.  Retro themed necklaces and vintage inspired earrings made from up-cycled rubber, leather and paper comprise this limited edition collection. A selection of the range can be viewed at www.odetoelma.com

Come play at our first market for the year on Sunday 23rd February 11:00am to 4:00pm (event deets here and take a peek at our sneaky peek here) at 1000 £ Bend with a range of delightful art and design delights and sweet things to munch on and/or or lather yourself with in these last days of this hot hot summer.

We will also have our friends from THE SUSTAINABLE TABLE presenting our crafternoon corner this month as part of the SUSTAINABLE LIVING FESTIVAL. Learn how to make flowers and vases from plastic food waste. The plastic wonders will be used to theme a Zero-Waste long lunch held on Clean Up Australia Day in March.

February stallholders include: AGNES & I, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BYRNE DESIGN CO., THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CULTURE TEA, DESMOND WOLF, EMBRASS, THE GIRL NIGHTINGALE, METTA SKINCARE, ODE TO ELMA, RATHER LITTLE, ROUTINE, SEBO HANDMADE JEWELLERY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL ME, TIMBER ARCADIA, UNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more.

Leave a Reply

