Strange Beautiful Me

ImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Strange beauty I saw
The dress she wore told no lies
How do I love strange

Tell us a little about the origins of Strange Beautiful Me.
It all began one fine sunny day at a market. I always made my clothes season to season. I rustled them altogether , a wardrobe of beautifully made original fashion garments designed to suit me by me ! I Hung them all out to sell. By noon my wardrobe no longer was mine I packed up and went home. Feeling a little sad I began designing a new collection. I have since sold three wardrobe collections.

Describe your creative process.
I collect clothing , trims, materials that would inspire me to design a new look one I haven’t seen before one that I would like to be seen in. I own a vintage mannequin named Ursula named after a teacher I adored at fashion college and I begin designing cutting and hand stitching garments together. One at a time.

What inspires you the most?
Innovation in fashion. To design a garment that brands you to look like everybody else is one thing but to design a garment that can enhance beauty from within an original design that no one else can wear … When I step out I don’t want to look like a celebrity or a Dior clone !! I want to be myself , unique and interesting … That’s how I like to dress.


Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Billy and Lola
They really have a beautiful product, using Sustainable fabrics, recycled fabrics, non toxic, locally sourced  and locally made. It is not hard to be ethical more people should do it.

Limedrop.
Still a big fan of lime drop her  fashion  label truly  is her imagination running wild !! She does it so well. It is playful with great colour and life.

I think it is very important to support local designers. To buy that one super special piece rather than 5 poorly made garments that can’t offer you the emotional connection and presence that local garments can…..

What are your ultimate dreams for Strange Beautiful Me?
To bring out a new wardrobe each year that continues to sell out !!

What will will we find from Strange Beautiful Me at our February Bend and Snap Market?
Wardrobe number 4 xx

http://www.strangebeautifulme.com.au/

Come play at our first market for the year on Sunday 23rd February 11:00am to 4:00pm (event deets here and take a peek at our sneaky peek here) at 1000 £ Bend with a range of delightful art and design delights and sweet things to munch on and/or or lather yourself with in these last days of this hot hot summer.

We will also have our friends from THE SUSTAINABLE TABLE presenting our crafternoon corner this month as part of the SUSTAINABLE LIVING FESTIVAL. Learn how to make flowers and vases from plastic food waste. The plastic wonders will be used to theme a Zero-Waste long lunch held on Clean Up Australia Day in March.

February stallholders include: AGNES & I, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BYRNE DESIGN CO., THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CULTURE TEA, DESMOND WOLF, EMBRASS, THE GIRL NIGHTINGALE, METTA SKINCARE, ODE TO ELMA, RATHER LITTLE, ROUTINE, SEBO HANDMADE JEWELLERY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL ME, TIMBER ARCADIA, UNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more.

Leave a Reply

