The Snood’s Art

ImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Trippy images
Free of toxins, free of guilt,
This is all I give.

Tell us a little about the origins of The Snood’s Art.
The Snood’s Art was created to share my passion, and so that I could have a job where I set the values. In every job I have had over the years, I have felt frustrating guilt for the neglectful approach the businesses have had towards the environment.
I think art, like everything, should be environmentally friendly and financially accessible. I’m frustrated to find many artists inadvertently support logging and toxic run-off through the materials they buy. If we all make the effort to learn the origins of our materials we can change the market.

Describe your creative process.
My creative process is a bit vague; I’m not exactly sure how my work comes to be. I pick a subject matter, do a quick outline in pencil and then take to it with a pen. The patterns and textures grow and evolve as I draw; I try not to intellectualize what I’m drawing. I often start a piece with the intention of doing something simple but soon enough it turns into a complex mess of flowing patterns.

What inspires you the most?
I take inspiration from flora and fauna; I’m in constant awe of the diversity of nature.  I often find myself crouched at the side of the road staring at a weed or trying to make friends with a bird.

What are your ultimate dreams for The Snood’s Art?
In the coming months I plan to expand The Snood’s Art from cushions and prints to picture frames made from recycled and found wood. Ultimately, my goal for The Snood’s Art is to inform people about the effects products have on the environment and that if we make an effort to only buy from environmentally conscious businesses we can change the market, because at the end of the day consumers make businesses.

What will will we find from The Snood’s Art at our April Bend and Snap Market?
At April’s Bend and Snap, I will be selling eco friendly prints, greeting cards and hopefully some cushions (made from post-consumer plastic bottles).

 

http://www.facebook.com/TheSnoodsArt

 

Our next market will be held THIS Sunday 27th April 11:00am to 4:00pm featuring gorgeous stall holders: AGNES & I, CASHMERISM, CRITTER CLAWS, CULTURE TEA, FLOWERS ST GERMAIN, THE GIRL & HER NIGHTINGALE, HANNAKIN, JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD, METTA SKINCARE, MIN PIN, OH DAKOTA, ONE SMALL DUCK, THE SNOOD’S ART, SOUL STORIES, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL ME, TAMARA GAMIL CHOCOLATIER, UNFAZED & CONFUZED , YOU, ME & BONES and more.

We are excited to welcome back the curatorial team behind the upcoming CHIN PIN EXHIBITION (be sure to keep an eye and all the senses open for the opening at No Vacancy Gallery in June).

Chinpin is a contemporary treatment to the traditional cabinets of curiosities, which will bring together a diverse selection of work from 20 emerging artists within Australia (including some of our previous stall holders!): Anna Snoekstra, Annita Maslov, Bonnie Eichelberger, Ebony Eden, Evie Cahir, Halszkat, Jr Blue Cloud, Julia Trybala, Julian May (The Handy Studio), Lauren Nicholson, Lisa Twomey, Michael Hawkins, Nina Elliott, Paul Mares, Saara March, Steven Pennington & Xian – Christian Bishop.

At our market day this month, the team behind this visual extravaganza EMMA, ALLEGRA & EMILY will be showcasing an assortment of goodies from a selection of artists from the show with items such as totebags, zines, badges, t shirts, postcards, gocco prints, screen prints, digital prints, original artworks and various other oddities.

See you all at our market day on Sunday 27th April 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend for a wander about our emporium of wonders of countless creative talents that we are incredibly proud to be bringing you each month!

Leave a Reply

