Gypsy’s Sewing Box

steamgypsy

Tell us a little about the origins of Gypsy’s Sewing Box.
Initially, I started making clothing purely for myself, because the clothing available for me to buy either wasn’t quite to my taste, was way too expensive for what it was or just didn’t fit my dimensions because I don’t fit the cookie-cutter mold. Then I found that people were commenting on my style and telling me they found the same problems with not being able to find their preferred clothing in a shape that’s flattering for them. So I started sewing things for my friends at first, and it’s grown from there!

Describe your creative process.
My creative process is fairly straight forward; It takes one of two paths. The first is I see something that inspires me, which might be a movie or someone walking down the street or a print on a fabric. Usually I’ll get an idea in my head of a style that I want to make, or if it’s a piece of clothing on someone that’s inspired me, I’ll look at how I would make that something I would want to wear. What change to the cut of the fabric? Maybe use a different fabric all together? Does it need anything to help it fit different body types? What trims or accessories does it lend itself to? I consider a lot of different possibilities before going for one and drafting the pattern and going from there.
The second path is when a customer approaches me with their own ideas. Then I sit down with them and get as much information about what they want, get a full set of measurements and draft a design plan for them. Provided no tweaks need to be made I go ahead and draft the pattern and it’s much the same process in terms of construction.

What inspires you the most?
I’m hugely inspired by the people I talk to about what they like and don’t like in clothing of their style. Hearing what problems real people are having and sharing with them the problem I experience myself, we bounce ideas off each other and I always leave those conversations with huge drive to do more.
I’m also very inspired by my mum, Maybs of Maybellini. Without her influence, I possibly would never have found my way to a sewing machine, may never have had the opportunity to explore and create my own clothing as a teenager, and almost certainly wouldn’t have the know-how I do today!

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Pretty Unique Giftware (Self explanatory)
Madness and Tea (Really cool artwork with a dark twist)
English Rose (All-round really wonderful model)
Fable Workshop (Fantasy accessories to die for!)
Gemma Lark (LOVE some of the things she creates!)
CC Notorious Custom Corsets (Beautiful and comfortable)

What are your ultimate dreams for Gypsy’s Sewing Box?
Ultimately, I would love for this to be my full-time job, to be creating awesome garments for awesome people! Maybe have a small shop front so that people can come see us any old time, and maybe be can branch out and have more people working to achieve the fashion dreams of our amazing customers.

What will will we find from Gypsy’s Sewing Box at our August Bend and Snap Market?
We will be teaming up with Maybellini again! We will be bringing a selection of retro-inspired, steampunk and classic elegance, everyday wear, kids clothing. Slide combs, snap clips, hair ties and head bands. Beanies, lavender bags and more!

http://www.facebook.com/AGypsysCollection

Come join us for our upcoming market day on Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm with a delicious variety of stalls showcasing the wonderful work of the local art and design community.

We will also be indulging in a little crafternoon fun at market day with an UPCYCLED ORIGAMI WORKSHOP presented by the talented ORIGAMIG. Forget the standard paper plane and/or chatter box (though we can make them too if you like!) and get folding and sculpting gorgeous intricate creations under the guidance of our resident origami guru!

Be sure to see our other gorgeous stall holders where you will find a range of delights both unique and sustainable – such as fancy glittery hand-embroidered cushions, owl plushies, tea towels and various homewares, bespoke botanical bouquets, steampunk, retro, gothic or Victorian garments and other items, upcycled vinyl, paint, thread and vintage furniture, strangely beautiful upcycled garments, origami jewellery, origami decoration, delicate paper crafts, handcrafted candles, unique children’s vintage clothing, handmade children’s accessories, whimsical pictures and other magical bits and bobs, beautiful terrariums and low maintenance eco system wonderlands, sweet shortbreads and much much more! *breathes*

 

Stall holders for our August market include:  A MURDER OF RAVENS, BLACK & GOLD, DARLING, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BOTANICAL STYLING BY LIZ, GYPSY’S SEWING BOX, HANNAKIN, MAYBELLINI, ORIGAMIG, PETITE MAMIE, PLATED IMAGE, RADICAL THREADS, SARZ DESIGNS, SCRABBLE KITTY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL METERRARIUM LABORATORYUNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more!

August Bend and Snap Market
Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm
1000 £ Bend
361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
Find us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/BendandSnapMarket

Leave a Reply

