Radical Threads

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Family and friends
Bold,bright and a lot bubbly
The love of singing

Tell us a little about the origins of Radical Threads.
Radical Threads was created for the love of vintage treasures and handmade crafts of all sorts. I am a born American and now have unpacked and settled in Melbourne. My creative being started when I was very young performing on stage. Now, being a Mama of a little red head and at home, I found myself wanting to explore the other creative in me. I wanted to make the most of the time I had while ‘Little Red’ was napping in the early days so I started with some new crafts I hadn’t yet explored such as jewellery making, embroidery hoop art and crochet. I have been knitting for nearly 10 years and did a few projects for family and friends as well. I am one of the lucky ones that was blessed with a baby who was always a good sleeper so instead of napping while she napped, I drank a lot of coffee and ran around the house getting chores done so I could sit and relax with my needles, hooks and hoops.

I am also an admirer and collector of vintage things. I was so excited once my little one was born so I could go treasure hunting to find lovely baby and kids vintage wares. I think it is so important for everyone to recycle and reuse whenever possible. And with clothing, there are mountains of perfectly good clothes around the world sitting in factories just waiting to be used again. Selling children’s vintage clothing was a no brainer for me, knowing how quickly these munchkins grow out of things. The local vintage shops around don’t have a very wide range of baby and kids clothing so I wanted to be an affordable outlet with a wide range of really cool unique vintage pieces for parents to get a hold of.

Describe your creative process.
My creative process is motivated firstly by coffee and music. If I don’t have these two things, NOTHING gets done. Depending on my mood, it’s either a mix of 60’s,70’s and 80’s and most importantly the 90’s Alternative station. I work from home and any empty space is taken up with my creations and materials. Juggling motherhood, being a business owner and also working part time for a non for profit organisation. I have to manage my time perfectly to accomplish anything.

What inspires you the most?
Colour palettes! From art, fabrics, flowers, fashion…anything bold and bright sets my creative juices flowing.  

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Eek! There are so many artists I admire!
Laura Blythman. LOVE her colour palette!!
Little Village Handmade based in Sydney. I think her pillows are just too freakin cute and clever.
Montana Kitching. This lovely gem created the logo for Radical Threads!

What are your ultimate dreams for Radical Threads?     
My ultimate goals for this chapter of life are to produce wonderful handmade goodies for people to love and mostly to encourage my daughter to explore everything and anything she wants, even if it sounds crazy.

What will will we find from Radical Threads at our August Bend and Snap Market?
Oh man! The vintage clothing I have for the kiddies are seriously so unique. The sizes range from baby up to about 12 years of age. Big range of sizes and era’s for sure! From 60’s retro dresses, 70’s bell bottom dungarees, 80’s jumpers and 90’s white wash. I often have to stop myself wanting to hoard some pieces for my little one. There will be some handmade beauties as well. Some crochet items, hoop art and jewellery. Lot’s of colour and a little bit of everything.

http://www.facebook.com/radicalthreads
http://www.etsy.com/au/shop/TheRaddestThreads

 

Come join us for our upcoming market day on Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm with a delicious variety of stalls showcasing the wonderful work of the local art and design community.

 

We will also be indulging in a little crafternoon fun at market day with an UPCYCLED ORIGAMI WORKSHOP presented by the talented ORIGAMIG. Forget the standard paper plane and/or chatter box (though we can make them too if you like!) and get folding and sculpting gorgeous intricate creations under the guidance of our resident origami guru!

 

Be sure to see our other gorgeous stall holders where you will find a range of delights both unique and sustainable – such as fancy glittery hand-embroidered cushions, owl plushies, tea towels and various homewares, bespoke botanical bouquets, steampunk, retro, gothic or Victorian garments and other items, upcycled vinyl, paint, thread and vintage furniture, strangely beautiful upcycled garments, origami jewellery, origami decoration, delicate paper crafts, handcrafted candles, unique children’s vintage clothing, handmade children’s accessories, whimsical pictures and other magical bits and bobs, beautiful terrariums and low maintenance eco system wonderlands, sweet shortbreads and much much more! *breathes*

 

Stall holders for our August market include:  A MURDER OF RAVENS, BLACK & GOLD, DARLING, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BOTANICAL STYLING BY LIZ, GYPSY’S SEWING BOX, THE HANDY STUDIO, HANNAKIN, KATRINA-MARIE, MAYBELLINI, ORIGAMIG, PETITE MAMIE, PLATED IMAGE, RADICAL THREADS, SARZ DESIGNS, SCRABBLE KITTY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL METERRARIUM LABORATORYUNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more!

August Bend and Snap Market
Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm
1000 £ Bend
361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
Find us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/BendandSnapMarket

Leave a Reply

