The Handy Studio

Photo_02 Photo_03 Photo_04 Photo_05

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Hands repeating in my mind I can’t keep track of the time Like shapes in the sky

Tell us a little about the origins of The Handy Studio.
The Handy Studio is a design & illustration studio based in Melbourne focusing on creating bright and colourful work.
I started the studio after working for a few design studios where I didn’t get to use my own personal style of design and illustration, so I took a chance and started up The Handy Studio and it has now been a year since I started and I am not looking back!

Describe your creative process.
Suddenly waking up from a dream or a long think in bed usually points me in the right direction. Almost every time I know I’ve got to create something it comes to me whilst I am at my most tired, but I write or draw it down and have it fresh for the morning. I’m probably going to be telling you the worst ways of a creative process but it just works for me. I sometimes sketch or research and others I just jump on the computer and go for it, it really just depends on how clear of an idea I have for what I have to do.

What inspires you the most?
I’m inspired by what I see around me, things that catch my eye, objects that I become obsessed with. I go to antique and collectable stores which inspire me the most, just searching through retro objects gives a thrill that I cannot explain. I usually find something that sets of an idea instantly and the pencil starts flowing. I also love colour and shape and more recently different textures, if that’s from nature, architecture or fashion.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
I will give you three, Hamish Munro, Jewllery Designer/ Artist. Aaron Billings, Artist/ Embroider and Lucas Grogan, Artist.
These three guys are the ones I’m watching at the moment.

What are your ultimate dreams for The Handy Studio?
To tell you the truth I don’t really know just of yet. I am just focusing on creating new works and finding clients that are on the same wavelength as I am and to just collaborate with beautifully minded people.

What will we find from The Handy Studio at our August Bend and Snap Market?
You will definitely find a selection of fine art prints, Gocco prints, D.I.Y Kits, Bedding & some extremely handy Drawstring bags.

 

http://thehandystudio.bigcartel.com

http://www.facebook.com/thehandystudio

 

Come join us for our upcoming market day on Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm with a delicious variety of stalls showcasing the wonderful work of the local art and design community.

 

We will also be indulging in a little crafternoon fun at market day with an UPCYCLED ORIGAMI WORKSHOP presented by the talented ORIGAMIG. Forget the standard paper plane and/or chatter box (though we can make them too if you like!) and get folding and sculpting gorgeous intricate creations under the guidance of our resident origami guru!

 

Be sure to see our other gorgeous stall holders where you will find a range of delights both unique and sustainable – such as fancy glittery hand-embroidered cushions, owl plushies, tea towels and various homewares, bespoke botanical bouquets, steampunk, retro, gothic or Victorian garments and other items, upcycled vinyl, paint, thread and vintage furniture, strangely beautiful upcycled garments, origami jewellery, origami decoration, delicate paper crafts, handcrafted candles, unique children’s vintage clothing, handmade children’s accessories, whimsical pictures and other magical bits and bobs, beautiful terrariums and low maintenance eco system wonderlands, sweet shortbreads and much much more! *breathes*

 

Stall holders for our August market include:  A MURDER OF RAVENS, BLACK & GOLD, DARLING, BONNIEBIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, BOTANICAL STYLING BY LIZ, GYPSY’S SEWING BOX, THE HANDY STUDIO, HANNAKIN, KATRINA-MARIE, MAYBELLINI, ORIGAMIG, PETITE MAMIE, PLATED IMAGE, RADICAL THREADS, SARZ DESIGNS, SCRABBLE KITTY, STRANGE BEAUTIFUL METERRARIUM LABORATORYUNFAZED & CONFUZED and many more!

August Bend and Snap Market
Sunday 31st August 11:00am to 4:00pm
1000 £ Bend
361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
Find us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/BendandSnapMarket

Leave a Reply

