Vctoria Vctoria

Demons_v1 melbourne_VV ourlovecomesback_VV poppies_VV printsX4_VV printx3_VV Resfeber_v1 romance_VV The Book of Love_v1

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Happy go lucky
Watercolours and pencils
Always on the move

 

Tell us a little about the origins of Vctoria Vctoria.
Vctoria Vctoria started as a blog for sharing art, fashion and writing.The blog was a way of forcing myself to be more creative after years of neglecting my sketch book! The name comes from my love of my home state and obsession with the Canadian town of Victoria.

I began taking art classes and explored as many styles and techniques as I could. I was very out of touch to begin with so it took a lot of practice.

After a couple of years of posting work on my blog and instagram I felt like I had developed a drawing style I was proud of and started getting requests for commissions and prints. From there I began the Vctoria Vctoria Etsy store where I sell my illustrations as prints.

 

Describe your creative process.
I am constantly creating Pinterest boards recording the things that inspire me, this can be anything from the way someone positions their body to a cup of coffee!

From there I start with rough sketches and let ideas come to me as I work. I trace the version of the sketch I am most happy with, make any changes needed and sort out the proportions. I then create a clean version of the piece on watercolour paper, complete my pencil work then add colour using watercolour paints. I do not do much initial planning, once I get an idea in my head I become obsessed until I get it on paper and it constantly changes as I draw.

I always have a nice cup of tea and an interesting podcast to keep my mind at ease while I draw too!

 

What inspires you the most?
Ever since I took life drawing classes the female form has been a constant source of inspiration. I find women and natural beauty to be so wonderfully simple! Other than that I’m influenced by places I visit, music I listen to and other artists.

 

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
It is so hard to choose, but Melbourne locals Kelly Thompson, Loretta Lizzio and Alexis Winter are currently my favourites! I recently discovered tattoo artist Kane Trubenbacher and I have fallen in love with his linework and use of shading.

 

What are your ultimate dreams for Vctoria Vctoria?
I’d love to one day collaborate with other artists and brands and maybe even see some Vctoria Vctoria pieces in print! Overall though, as long as I can keep making my illustrations I will be happy gal.

 

What will will we find from Vctoria Vctoria at our October Bend and Snap Market?
Expect to find a number of delicate illustrations printed on textured paper featuring scantily dressed women, portraits and delicious items like coffee and pineapples! I will also be releasing some new prints at Bend and Snap that are not yet available through my Etsy store.

http://vctoriavctoria.wordpress.com/
http://www.etsy.com/shop/vctoriavctoria

(flyer designed by INKLING PRESS).
Come feast on a delicious banquet of art and design on Sunday 26th October 11:00am to 4:00pm with an assortment of stalls showcasing the wonderful work and diversity of the local creative community.
At our upcoming market day, be prepared to marvel at a kaleidoscopic array of creations such as non-functional and decorative art, unique textiles and homewares, upcycled furniture, handmade jewellery (some made with salvaged salvaged remnants of musical instrument parts), a cluster of concrete creations, clever ceramics, terrariums and indoor gardens, delicate paper crafts, hand drawn illustrations, watercolours and prints – from minimalist masterpieces to exaggerated allegorical art works and quirky cartoons, garish garments, dapper wares for refined ladies and gentlemen and cards and prints for a life lived less serious. 

Browse amongst the stalls and flex your creative muscles by crafting a succulent concrete creation with the COLOUR BOX STUDIO presented HANGING CONCRETE POT & SUCCULENT WORKSHOP under the guidance of floristry extraordinaire MS. MURPHY FLOWERS (book your spot here) and then get all kinds of gluey with EELAV MCBEE for even more DIY crafternooning fun.

 

Savour every single item on the delish 1000 £ Bend menu (including ALL DAY breakfast) with us and let your inspiration burst with all the wonderful wares on display from all of our darling stall holders: COLOUR BOX STUDIO, GYPSY’S SEWING BOX, EELAV MCBEE, INANNA GLOBAL THREADS, JULIAN DE LIO, KITTY & CADAVER, MAYBELLINI, ME U, MITCH ELSON, MS. MURPHY FLOWERS, PLATED IMAGE, OLIVIA YORK, RALEIGH MADE, SLATER PACE, TOM CARTOONIST, THAT DAPPER CHAP, TWIN, UNFAZED & CONFUZED, VANESSA MARIAN, VCTORIA VCTORIA and YEN YEN LO.

October Bend and Snap Market

Sunday 26th October 11:00am to 4:00pm

361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
Leave a Reply

