Mr. Draper

Processed with VSCOcam with 10 preset

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Soft earthy linens
Of quiet early mornings
I dream and I dream

Tell us a little about the origins of Mr Draper.
I started Mr Draper after leaving the military in mid 2014. Needing a change in my life, and tired of the disposable nature of the items around our homes, I set about creating products that are not only beautiful, but also hardwearing and functional.

The business is not about making more ‘stuff’ to go in your home or getting ‘rich’. It is about doing something I love and building a sustainable business and lifestyle. Creating quality products that will last, and giving people an affordable locally made option for their homes.

Describe your creative process.
I tend to choose a particular fabric and then become obsessed with it. I’ll learn as much as I can and gather lots of different samples. From there, I’ll try to design a product that lets the fabric’s innate beauty shine through. I’m a fan of wabi sabi and will try to design around any imperfections. The design process (to me) is about adding a utilitarian component and providing a platform for the natural beauty of the fabric to shine through.

What inspires you the most?
The textures and colours of the Australian bush. Growing up in the Otway’s I was always close to nature and took it for granted. When I moved up to Melbourne for uni I became a bit disconnected from it. It wasn’t until I was in the military and spending a lot of time in the bush that I really realised how important it was to me. I draw a lot of my energy and inspiration from just being out there.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
One of my buddies, Kai Brach runs Offscreen Magazine from his home in Brunswick. Kai is an amazing designer and constant source of good advice and encouragement. He has done an amazing job on Offscreen, creating a very successful print magazine about people behind the bits and pixels.

Check him out at offscreenmag.com

What are your ultimate dreams for Mr Draper?
I want to build Mr Draper into an ethical and sustainable business that gives people a choice regarding their homewares and bedding products. I want the brand to be super accessible, which is why I have offered people the choice of swapping me something for my products, the only condition being that they make it, bake it, catch it, create it themselves.

There’s a little more about it on my website at mrdraper.com.au and I’m working on putting together a dedicated swap page soon.

What will we find from Mr Draper at our November Bend and Snap Market?
An array of fine Linen 🙂 My bedding products are still in the works but I will have tea towels, napkin sets, tablecloths, handkerchiefs, pocket squares, cushions and maybe a few bags.

I do custom work too so come say hi and we can design and build whatever you want!

http://www.mrdraper.com.au/

(flyer designed by INKLING PRESS).

Come and see MR. DRAPER and browse the various art and design stalls this Sunday 23rd November at 1000 £ Bend from 11:00am to 4:00pm for a selection of unique handmade wares from the local creative community, peruse the second hand and vintage stalls and repurpose a pre-loved item or three, get creative and make your own bouquet of paper dahlias with PLATED IMAGE, learn some new origami skills and make Christmas decorations with ORIGAMIG and get festive with some of the delicious gingerbread to be served up at market day.

(image courtesy of PLATED IMAGE).

(image courtesy of ORIGAMIG).

Enjoy an afternoon of discovery with illustrations and an array of art works, plywood jewellery, curious crafts, humorous cards and whimsical prints, quirky cartoons, screen printed and hand dyed homewares, fine linen and crisp bedding products, dapper apparel, origami jewellery and decoration, embroidery hoops and owl plushies, upcycled vintage furniture, delicate paper crafts and recycled electronics, antique medical equipment, found bits and pieces, modern oddities, and culinary creations reinvented into shiny science experiments.

Stall holders include: A SUPERB WREN, ALERT THE BUNNY, EELAV MCBEE, GYPSY’S SEWING BOX, HEADBANDS FOR SMILES, INKLING PRESS, JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD, KITTY & CADAVER, MAD SCIENCE AT WORK, MANUELA IGREJA JEWELS, MAYBELLINI, ME.U, MR DRAPER, OLIVIA YORK, ORIGAMIG, PLATED IMAGE, SCRABBLE KITTY, TALENTED APPLE, THAT DAPPER CHAP, TOM CARTOONIST and many more.

November Bend and Snap Market @ 1000 £ Bend
Sunday 23rd November 11:00am to 4:00pm
361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
Find us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BendandSnapMarket

Leave a Reply

