Hannakin

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku
some pretty pictures
a collective of creatures
also some vikings
Tell us a little about the origins of Hannakin.
I have forever been drawing and creating, and after studying Visual Arts and continuing to develop my work in different mediums (I’m predominantly an illustrator, but dabble into 3D soft sculpture and textile works), I created Hannakin; to encompass all of the funny little things I make and do. My tagline is “Hannakin: Pretty pictures, strange creatures and other bits and bobs by Hanna Mancini”.
 
Describe your creative process.
All over the place! And completed in a tiny work space! Felt and paper scraps everywhere, to do lists, lots of tea consumed. Intimate and chaotic.
 
What inspires you the most?
It’s so hard to pinpoint because my inspirations aren’t always conscious and I draw them from every aspect of my life. I keep a sketchbook and jot down and sketch random thoughts and ideas. But I guess some big ones are: Illustrated children’s books, and illustrators in general, computer games, animation and (very regularly) song lyrics.
 
Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers. (please include links where possible).
I’m forever inspired by the illustrations and creative mind of Sophie McPike , I love local designers Rebound Books, Neil Thomas Art, Greg Mann Jewellery who all make really unique, special pieces, and I’m also really inspired by what the cool kids at Joining Forces are doing. My favourite illustrator of all time, Shaun Tan, is also Melbourne based.
What are your ultimate dreams for Hannakin?
For it to be sustainable, so that I can survive making and doing the work I love. To be happy. And to make other people happy.
 
What will will we find from Hannakin at our September Bend and Snap Market?
I will have a big selection of archival art prints of my whimsical illustrations, hand-sewn wool-felt brooches of many colours, shapes and designs (including cats, bunnies, bears, cows, goats, beasts and vikings!), and special one-off Art Dolls made with pure wool felt and vintage fabrics and trims.
 

Hello Spring! IT IS OUR 2ND BIRTHDAY THIS MONTH!!! Check out a little bend and snap retrospective of our first year here and come celebrate our second fabulous year of creation and wonder and feast on a big delicious banquet of art, design, fashion and vintage. Play with us in our steamy Crafternoon Corner presented by the MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS see the steamy deets here), binge on sweet treats all day with us and let your inspiration burst with all the wonderful wares on display from all of our darling stall holders: AGNES & I, BEDFORD GROVE, BIND I FOLD, BOHO BIRD JEWELLERY, BONNIE BIX QUALITY SHORTBREADS, THE CANARY PRESS, THE CREATURE WORKSHOP, CRITTER CLAWS, THE DESIGN COURT, EELAV MCBEE, FORGET ME KNOTT, FORGET ME NOT ENGRAVING, FUTUREKIND, THE GIRL & HER NIGHTINGALE, HANNAKIN, HANDMOOD, HELEN FLEUR DESIGNS, HONEY & VINEGAR, JUX, LORETTA D’ONOFRIO, LOW GLO LUMINAIRES, M’AGAPI, ME-U, MELBOURNE ALT CRAFTERS, MONTAGE MOSAICS, OF WOOD AND ASH, PRECIOUS LITTLE SAKURA, RUBY LOUISE, RUN WILD HORSES, SAHAURA, SEBO-HANDMADE JEWELLERY, SCRABBLE KITTY, SPOONFULS OF LOVE, TOM CARTOONIST & VERA CHAN.

RSVP here.
See our sneaky peek album here.

Follow us on Instagram @bendandsnapmarket and use hashtag #bendandsnapmarket

See see you all for our market birthday bash this on Sunday 29th September 11:00am to 4:00pm at 1000 £ Bend 361 Little Lonsdale Street in the city.

* Please note the for the month of October our market date will be held on Sunday 20th October 11:00am to 4:00pm, be sure to pencil it in!!!

Leave a comment