By Mungy

IMG_1096IMG_1159IMG_0675IMG_1150IMG_0587

Tell us a little about yourself using a Haiku.
Mythical creature
She creates toys & pretty things ,
from love, dreams & wishes

Tell us a little about the origins of By Mungy.
I started making toys for my children, when they were very little the called me Mungy instead of Mummy so my creations have always been made by Mungy. I started in the UK doing open houses & then some small craft fairs. I moved to Melbourne at the end of 2012 & am just beginning to find my feet in the craft world here.

Describe your creative process.
I can see what I am going to make next in my mind & I can’t think about anything else until it is made. By the time it is finished I am obsessed with the next one.

What inspires you the most?
I love pattern & colour especially 60’s & 70’s geometric pattern. I pick out fabrics that I think work together & they sort of tell me what the want to be. If I see someone else work that I like it inspires me to produce something better.

Name some of your most favourite local artists and designers.
Hannakin is by far my favourite local artist. I love her little art dolls & would take them all home them all if I could.
I adore the jewellery by Custard Fox with its bold use of colour.
Because of my love of fabric I would also have to say I love Pretty Parcel.
& The Professors Daughter.

What are your ultimate dreams for By Mungy?
I want to keep by Mungy as one off hand made pieces because that is what I love doing. I’m not looking to take over the world just share a little bit of colour & fun.

What will will we find from By Mungy at our September Bend and Snap Market?
Mungy has definitely sensed spring is in the air , you can expect some very cheeky monsters who are seeking their forever friends , they come with their own lonely hearts description. Mungy also makes some little pugs & donates the profits from these to a pug rescue charity. Expect lots of colour & fun.

http://www.facebook.com/bymungy
http://www.etsy.com/shop/byMungy

(flyer by JULIE’S LITTLE WORLD).

This month will mark our THIRD BIRTHDAY and we feel privileged to have been able to work with a diverse assortment of emerging and established artists, designers, inventors, makers and foragers alike and have truly enjoyed our three years of life, see a couple of epic retrospective blog posts on our first couple of market years here and here.

Come celebrate and feast on a delicious banquet of art, design, fashion and vintage on Sunday 28th September at 1000 £ Bend from 11:00am to 4:00pm with an assortment of stalls showcasing the wonderful work of the local creative community.

This month you will find a marvelous miscellany of handmade handicrafts from patchwork toys and pretty things, soy candles made in retro glass jars, Steampunk, Gothic and Victorian world curio, charm bracelets and vintage clothes, millions of layers of crepe cakes, custom made vintage furniture, delicate paper crafts, all things fabric and handcrafted, resin jewellery & totally-on-trend concrete homewares, a dragon and goblin adoption centre, various upcycled creations, rad and hella comfy sox and locally made and high quality art and craft materials.

Browse amongst the stalls and flex your creative muscles by making an arrangement of Origami Flowers and Paper Dahlias for your head and home. Following the wonderful Upcycled Origami Workshop last month, Manuela from Origamig will be back to host a workshop to show how to make a selection of paper flowers with a few simple folds. We are also thrilled to be having the paper-crafting-genius Trista from Plated Image inviting any discerning crafty folk to join her as she guides you on how to make an arrangement of Paper Dahlias with her gorgeous hand dyed tissue paper, Chenille stems, scissors and a little imagination.

Enjoy the 1000 £ Bend all day breakfast and/or burgers and Mille & B crêpe cakes throughout the day and let your inspiration burst with all the wonderful wares on display from each of of our stall holders:

Sunday 28th September 11:00am to 4:00pm
361 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne
https://bendandsnapmarket.wordpress.com/

 

Leave a comment